Back to timeline




The Society became a founding member of the Federation of Hong Kong Design Associations and the Hong Kong Design Centre

Stephen Hitchins PPCSD, is president of the Society 2000 - 2001

The Minerva Medal is awarded to Alberto Alessi for his outstanding contribution to Product Design


Jeff Banks CBE PPCSD, Fashion Designer, is president of the Society 2001 - 2003


HRH The Duke of Edinburgh awarded a special Gold Minerva Medal at St. James’s Palace in recognition of his services to the design profession and the Society

Brian Webb, Graphic Designer, is president of the Society 2003 - 2005



John Sermon PPCSD, is president of the Society 2005 - 2007


CSD launch Women in Design event to promote the role of women in the design industry

CSD promotes professionalism with China through a memorandum of understanding agreement with the Dragon Design Festival, a new foundation for design in China


CSD CPSK™  developed to underpin all Society initiatives and provide the profession with a framework for professional design practice

The Minerva Medal is presented at the Society's Minerva Dinner, was awarded to Lord Rogers of Riverside

CSD launches 4 new Regional Focus Groups in London, Edinburgh, Glasgow and Leeds

The Society holds membership assessments in Hong Kong at the British Consulate

Clive Richards, is president of the Society 2007 - 2009


Pilot of the education initiative, the CSD Course Endorsement Programme commenced

CSD is granted observer status to the meetings of Assemblies of the member States of the World Intellectual Property Organisation and the Unions administered by WIPO


The first major revision of the Society’s Bylaws approved by the membership to pave the way to becoming an awarding body

The first ‘CSD Accredited’ design course announced at 1 Carlton House for the University of Derby

Chris Ramsden PPCSD, Industrial Designer, is president of the Society 2009 - 2010


Back to timeline